Skip to content ↓

Tel: 01344 875101

Key Stage 4

At Heathermount School we endeavour to provide a broad and balanced curriculum that offers a range of opportunities for all our students. Foremost in our minds, whilst  developing this offer, is to maximise student engagement and attainment. Our curriculum framework at Key Stage 4 seeks to develop the talents of all students and continues to build on the knowledge and skills they have already developed in key subject areas,  allowing for progression through to Post 16 study and beyond.

In conjunction with the information available at the Key Stage 4 information meetings, is central to the process that will lead to your son or daughter making the best possible choices regarding the subjects he or she wishes to take in the future.

The compulsory curriculum will include:


  • GCSE English
  • GCSE Mathematics
  • Functional Skills
  • GCSE Science
  • ECDL
  • Essential Skills
  • Philosophy and Ethics
  • Citizenship/PSHE (Personal, Social, Health and Education) *
  • · Physical Education *

*Please note the PE and Citizenship/PSHE curriculum are core subjects.  However these we have not  attached GCSE qualifications to them.


To ensure that a broad and inclusive curriculum is offered, students have the opportunity to select a further three subjects to study from the list below:

  • Art
  • Business Administration
  • Computer Science (New for 2017)
  • Drama
  • History
  • Horticulture
  • Hospitality and Catering
  • Project
  • Skills for working life
  • ASDAN—Selected programmes for individual Students

Our Key Stage 4 curriculum will be taught over 3 years. For some of our courses, the first year will allow the students to develop their skills before embarking on the GCSE.  For other   courses, students will begin their GCSE immediately.  Year 3 will then be a year where students can improve their final grades.

General Information on GCSE’s

From September your son or daughter will be embarking on their GCSE English, Maths and Science courses or equivalent.

Over the last couple of years education has seen several changes, one of which affects GCSE’s. From September 2015 GCSEs in Maths and English have been given new numerical grades from 1 - 9, with 9 being the top grade.

The new grading structure will be applied to other GCSE subjects in 2018 and 2019.

Tiers of Entry 

Subjects may offer one or two tiers of entry:

Where there are two tiers of entry available, there will be a Higher and Foundation paper, The Higher tier gives access to achieving grades A* to D. The Foundation tier gives access to achieving grades C to G

Grades and Equivalents

Ofqual has provided guidance on the translation of letter grades to the new number grade format.

A grade 4 will be equivalent to a present grade C

A grade 7 will be equivalent to a present grade A.

Foundation covers grades 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 (U) 

Higher covering grades 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, (3), (U)

  1. KS Choices Form
  2. Key Stage 4 Options Booklet