Skip to content ↓


Key Stage 3

At Heathermount, students who are following the Key Stage 3 curriculum have a variety of learning experiences. We provide core and foundation subjects within the National Curriculum, but this is just one element in the education of the student. Other learning experiences include; Speech and Language sessions, Horticulture, Drama, Skills for Working Life and Catering. In addition, students begin to develop their portfolio of qualifications within this stage of their education. 

If you need further information regarding the Key Stage 3 curriculum please do not hesitate to contact the school.

Key Stage 4

At Heathermount School we endeavour to provide a broad and balanced curriculum that offers a range of opportunities for all our students. Foremost in our minds, whilst developing this offer, is to maximise student engagement and attainment. Our curriculum framework at Key Stage 4 seeks to develop the talents of all students and continues to build on the knowledge and skills they have already developed in key subject areas, allowing for progression through to Post 16 study and beyond.

The compulsory curriculum will include:

Core Curriculum

  • English

  • Mathematics

  • Science

  • Skills Builder

  • Life Skills

  • PSHE (Personal, Social, Health and Education) *

  • Physical Education *

*Please note the PE and Citizenship/PSHE curriculum are core subjects.  However, we do not currently offer accreditation in these subjects.


To ensure that a broad and inclusive curriculum is offered, students have the opportunity to select a further three subjects to study from the list below:

  • Art
  • Business Administration
  • Computer Science 
  • Drama
  • History
  • Horticulture
  • Hospitality and Catering
  • Geography
  • ASDAN—Selected programmes for individual Students
  • Construction

Our Key Stage 4 curriculum will be taught over 2 years. For some of our courses, the first year will allow the students to develop their skills before embarking on the GCSE.  For other courses, students will begin their GCSE immediately. 

Over the last couple of years education has seen several changes, one of which affects GCSE’s. From September 2015 GCSEs in Maths and English have been given new numerical grades from 1 - 9, with 9 being the top grade.

The new grading structure will be applied to other GCSE subjects in 2018 and 2019.

Tiers of Entry

Subjects may offer one or two tiers of entry:

Where there are two tiers of entry available, there will be a Higher and Foundation paper, The Higher tier gives access to achieving grades A* to D. The Foundation tier gives access to achieving grades C to G

Grades and Equivalents

Ofqual has provided guidance on the translation of letter grades to the new number grade format.

A grade 4 will be equivalent to a present grade C

A grade 7 will be equivalent to a present grade A.

Foundation covers grades 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 (U) 

Higher covering grades 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, (3), (U)